Our mission is to have as many people as possible feel comfortable using Covid Trace so that life saving information can be shared to protect ourselves and our communities. We believe strong assurances and measures for how we protect your privacy is how we accomplish our mission.
Public health relies on having good, public information. So, when it makes sense we will share anonymized data from your device to our service. This data is crucial to help people everywhere to flatten the curve.
Things we will never do
- Integrate any advertising or 3rd party tracking
- Sell your data.
- Store more data on your device than what we outline below.
- Share more data than what we outline below.
When you use the app
- We track up to the last 3 weeks of location data.
- Location data remains only on your phone.
- We will only record your location when you are not at home. When you are home, all tracking is disabled.
When you do a self-report
If your choose to submit a self-report, we will record the following information:
- The approximate area of the exposure.
- List of symptoms experienced
- Number of days since first symptoms
When the app determines possible exposure
After being alerted, you can choose to let us know about exposure. If you choose to notify us, the app will share the day and the area (approximately 2.5-mile radius) where the possible exposure occurred.
When you self-report a COVID-19 infection
We will anonymize and upload location data from your device starting 8 days prior to the onset of symptoms. The time of your movements will be rounded up to the nearest hour to preserve anonymity. The location of your home will never be included.
Verification when you submit data
When you submit data, we will need to verify that you’re a real person. The verification requires sending a code to your phone via text message. Your phone number is only used for verification.